Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been feeding Lucie raw for 6-8 months and she's been doing extremely well, but I feel like I'm leaning far too heavily on chicken (largely due to its cheap cost). She's eaten just about everything we have access to, but probably not in the quantities she should.

So... in a typical week, how many different meats should I be feeding?

·
Registered
5,009 Posts
There is no right answer for this really, just feed as much variety as you can as often as you can. Chicken is by far the most affordable source for most people. Admittedly, about 40% of what I feed is bone inclusive chicken because that's what makes it doable for me.

I feed twice a day, one smaller meal, one bigger meal. The smaller meal is almost always chicken.

In a week we try to include: chicken, turkey, pork, beef, lamb, and fish. We do as much variety as we can, but sometimes beef just doesnt go on sale for a long time and the only beef part they get may be kidney. Sometimes lamb just isn't doable.

I'm convinced that a diet consisting of JUST chicken, kidney, and liver is still better than kibble. Ideal? NO! The more variety the better, so just do what you can and don't stress over it TOO much.

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
I feed twice a day also. Smaller meal in the morning, larger meal in the evening. Morning meal is always chicken. I feed at least 3 meals in the evening that is not chicken. Beef heart, pork roast, fish. Those will sometimes vary and occasionally I run up on something different like venison, lamb, etc and will substitute it for a chicken meal when I have it.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
I feed twice a day as well, or else my spoo gets the 'hunger pukes'. My cavalier could do fine on once per day.

I probably feed too much chicken but I try to mix it up a bit, so it typically looks like this:
Mon: Chicken for breakfast (quarters wings or necks usually)
Pork ribs for dinner