Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have been feeding my dogs wellness for the past several months. Some foods dont settle well with them. I had them on Canidae but switched to EVO. They had a really hard time going to the bathroom while eating EVO so I switched them to Wellness. They have now been on Wellness for awhile but I just saw they started selling wellness in the petstores like Petco. That has me concerned. I want to make sure I am giving them the best food but I dont know alot about dog nutrition. My vet will not recommend a food as he said each dog is different and that vets get kick backs from recommending foods and that is why so many will tell you that these horrible foods are good for them. I just want to make sure Wellness is a good food and if there is one out there that is better.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Wellness is a premium food. They've been selling Solid Gold in Petco now for a while also. And Solid Gold is a premium food too.

·
Registered
628 Posts
I agree that Wellness is a GREAT food Solid Gold is good too as is Natural Balance and all are now being sold at PetCo. Blue Buffalo is an okay food and it is being sold at PetSmart. Just because it is being sold at a pet store doesn't mean it is bad. If you do some research onlien you can find the definitions of what an ingredient is. My suggestion would be to learn to read labels so you know if what you are feeding is good or based based on the ingredient panel and not where it is or is not sold.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Food Qualities

If you're ever in doubt about the quality of the food your giving your dog, I'd suggest you check www.DogFoodAnalysis.com They not only categorize them into "star" ratings (1 to 6) but give you all the label info and (while it can be opinionated to some degree) why it's bad or why it's good.

Wellness CORE is one of the better ones out there. :)

L

·
0 Posts