Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to feeding raw to my dogs, I feed them raw dog mince that I get from my local butcher, also chicken wings in the morning or fresh green tripe for their breakfast.
I'm unsure whether my dogs are getting everything they need from that so I liquidised some veg and added it to their mince for todays dinner, should i do this once or twice a week or not add any veg at all!?
Any info appreciated.
Thanks,Kev.

·
Banned
493 Posts
As long as you supply your dog with the correct amount of fresh meat, organ meat, and bones, he will be getting all of the nutrients that he needs. Therefore, there is no need to add vegetables to his diet. In the wild, wolves usually do not eat the stomach contents of their prey, unless it's a very small animal like a mouse or a rabbit. Dog's teeth do not have the ability to crush vegetables in a way where they can obtain nutrients from them, so for them to extract any nutrients at all, you must puree them. However, as long as your dog is on a sufficient prey model diet, there is not need to add any vegetables. Wolves in the wild almost never eat them. Wolves may occasionally eat some in the stomach of very small prey and or nibble on some grass, so if you would feel better giving him just a small hint of pureed vegetables a few times a week, it couldn't hurt.

Hope I could help!:smile:

·
Registered
10,128 Posts
Thanks Todd, I guess adding some once a week won't do any harm!
They wont harm your dog :wink:

But do make sure that you are feeding liver and kidney at the very least as far as organ meats go. Green tripe does not replace these two essential parts to a raw diet. They are the only organ meat that we feed our dogs. Heart is not an organ, its considered muscle meat, but is very rich so it can be hard for dogs to adjust to it.

Good luck!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5