Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,965 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son just came over tonight with another new dog they rescued. Now I have two rescued 'granddogs!'. This one is a 1 pound chihuahua puppy that is 8 weeks old. I have zero experience with tiny toy dogs. I have always owned Lhasa Apso's, Chows. and other big dogs with the Lhasa's being the littlest ones.

This puppy was on Nutro (gag gag) and they were told it had instances of hypoglycemia a few times (probably from the Nutro or from refusing to eat it). It refused to eat the Nutro when they got it yesterday and would only eat some baby food they gave it. I put down some EVO small bites kibble I had and it gobbled it right up and looked around for more and then ran around wagging its tail. It also snatched up the dried lamb lung that I use for treats and sat in line with the other dogs for more of those treats.

So, my question is, can I feed a tiny toy dog EVO for puppy food or should I have them give it Innova puppy instead? I know that puppy food isn't mandatory and it seems to love the tiny size and taste of the EVO, I just have no experience with Chihuahuas. I actually have always hated the breed because it always tried to bite me or pee on me, but this little thing is really cute and sweet and I can't believe I am saying that! I even cut up a tube sock and made a little sweater for it! I'm a sucker for granddogs that are rescued.......plus they are all moving back home in April so they will all be living with me soon! And here I thought we were going to retire and live alone in peace and quiet...hahahahaha

·
Registered
78 Posts
Evo is fine for a small pup and the small bites are the perfect size for tiny pups.