Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Jon and I adopted a shelter kitty who has spent the last year of her life at the Nevada SPCA. We named her Tilly.
My biggest fear with getting a cat (which neither of us have ever had before) was getting her to eat because I've heard the horror stories. We brought her home around 4pm yesterday.. and she has not eaten since. They sent her home with a bag of science diet (yuck) but said that she has been eating that as well as whatever people donate to the shelter, but mostly the science diet.
Here's my questions... and sorry, I'm a total cat noob.

1. We all know i despise science diet. Since she has been eating that "and whatever" would it be awful if I went out and got her something better? I know about phasing and whatnot, but her diet has not been consistent anyway.

2. She will not touch wet food either. I offered her some last night and she looked at me like I was totally nuts. It's my understanding that to get a kibble junkie to eat raw, it's easier to first transition to canned food, then try to go raw from these.

3. Or do I just keep offering her raw and eventually she will take it?

Her coat is terrible. We are taking her to a groomer oday to get a bath and get all cleaned up.. she's filthy, and smells awful. Poor kitty.

·
Registered
5,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah, we have sardines, mackeral, salmon, and tuna. I also have fresh salmon and talapia.
Do I just offer it all to her? I also have some canned food... all the different wellness grain free ones, and I can definately go pick up something else if anyone has a suggestion.

Since her diet wasn't set on the science diet before, will it hurt to try to get her at least to eat a better kibble if i can't get her to go for the raw or canned? (if so, which should I buy?)

·
Registered
3,550 Posts