Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I've been feeding raw for about 5 months now and I have a question for the raw experts who may be dealing with a dog with digestive issues.

Quick recap, Cooper is my youngest Golden and he's had bowel issues on and off since I got him at 5 months. Prone to diarrhea, we tried many different premium kibbles/cans until we finally converted to raw 5 months ago.

These days, Cooper goes back and forth between being constipated and having diarrhea. Any suggestions out there as to how to deal with this? My other three have no issues and do just fine on this diet.

I've read thru many of the raw threads and while I don't want to debate how I'm feeding raw here (I follow more of the Barf method), I'd be happy to on another thread. Right now, I'm interested in suggestions to help Cooper thrive on the method of feeding. So is there anyone out there who feed raw who has a dog with some form of IBS? We've tested for parasites, he's clean.

Thanks in advance:smile:

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
I know this isn't what you want to hear but when I first began feeding raw 7 years ago my dogs would have diarrhea the day after they ate veggies. This isn't an IBS or IBD or parasite problem. After about 6 months of raw feeding the BARF method, I met Dr. Tom Lonsdale and after several long conversations with him, I took his advice and stopped feeding veggies. I don't remember my dogs having diarrhea in the 6 1/2 years since. Tom convinced me that no matter how you look at it, their bodies are just not designed to eat plant material. There is nothing in their physiology that would aid them in digestion of plant material in any form.