Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
853 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I have a question, as I'm fairly clueless when it comes to raw feeding.

I would like to start giving Jackson some raw bones to chew on, for his teeth sake, and just chewing and jaw working, etc. He currently just gets bully sticks and himaylan chews. I really don't want to go full raw, I'm a college student living at home, don't have the freezer space, money, or time.

He eats Acana kibble. Now, where can I find/buy these raw bones? And what kind do I specifically look for/ask for? Will it mess him up, or make him get an upset stomach, or unbalance his meals? I'm just so new to the whole thing, sorry if I sound like such a noob. And when I get a raw bone, is it just like a bone, or is there a bunch of meat on it?

Another question-my local pet store sells the pre-made raw from Nature's Variety and they also sell Stella & Chewy's. I know they are basically like little hamburgers, correct? Or patties. Is it possible to purchase a bag of NV raw, for example, and give it to him in replacement of a meal maybe once a week? Or are you just not supposed to do that?

·
Registered
3,085 Posts
As far as raw bones for recreational chewing I would recommend raw beef ribs. You will probably purchase them in a rack (like 6 bones). I would purchase them, take them home and cut them apart. I would then trim a lot of the meat and fat off so they wouldn't cause any digestive upset. My dogs loved them! And, now that we are feeding totally raw, I am going to begin trimming them less and less.

As far as the pre made raw-I don't know anything about that. I'll let someone else answer....

·
Registered
4,267 Posts
My friend has a 12yo pug that gets a raw beef rib or pork rib every couple of days. She only started doing this a couple of months ago, and was quite nervous at first so she held it for him whilst he chewed away. Now he's a trooper.