Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question...

I'm new in terms of feeding better foods to my Dogs. This question has been bugging me for awhile...

With these ratings scales like Dogfoodanalysis...where they rate foods on their ingredient lists...IE-Chicken, Chicken Meal-those are "good" ingredients and propel a food to a high rating.

I cannot help but think this seems overly simplistic. Is it safe to assume that the Chicken used in Orijen or Evo is probably of a higher grade meat, from better sources...than say, a Diamond Chicken ingredient?

I certainly don't know the answer to this question...I just think that saying a food has chicken in it so it gets the same nod as another food might be overly simplistic.

I honestly don't know. Maybe chicken is chicken is chicken. Someone chime in please.

·
Registered
10,128 Posts
I think you are absolutely correct. But meat is not of human grade that is used in kibble rendering, unless specified (ie organic, etc) so the quality to me is negligible. In the case of chicken in dog foods...chicken is chicken, etc.

·
Registered
5,009 Posts
But meat is not of human grade that is used in kibble rendering, unless specified
Interesting tidbit: Ingrediengts labeled "human grade" in pet foods, only means that *at one point in time* the ingredients were fit for human consumption, but it does not mean that *at the time of rendering* it was. Source: Food Pets Die For by Ann N. Martin.