Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will try to make this as quick and painless as I can! lol
We are new to the fourms, and still semi-new to raw feeding my two dogs.
Cali is out 80lbs yellow lab (3 years old and LOVES raw!) & Ponyo is our 2.2lbs maltese (5 months old, started loving raw, now its a chore to get her to eat it, the reason for this post)!
I have been feeding raw for a few months now and LOVE the huge change my family (of 5) as seen in both dogs!
Cali is not a issue here, but like I said, Ponyo started out loving every type of meat I put in front of her. A few weeks ago she decited to not eat it anymore! She turns her nose up at it every time! I have started hand feeding her because it's the only way she will eat it most of the time! Here is another issue...if I put kibble in front of her, she eats it up in a hurry...Which I hate to do, but at times I feel she needs to eat something (another story of a seizure that she had due to low blood suger, so I do everything I can to avoid them!!!)
Any tips or comments on my little issue?

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
I have started hand feeding her because it's the only way she will eat it most of the time!
She is a good human trainer. She has you trained very well. She also has you wrapped around her little finger. Here is how to fix that little problem.

Put her food down the normal way. If she hasn't begun eating it in 10 minutes take it back up. Don't do anything to try to get her to eat it. She LOVES the extra attention. Don't beg her, cajole her, feed her by hand, dress up the food in any way. Do nothing to reward her not eating.