Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got two dogs that I've been feeding raw for a few months now, a purebred Westie (4 yrs old) and a Cairn terrier mix (9 yrs old). They've both been eating a variety of raw meats and bones, to include chicken, beef, pork, fish, turkey, and duck, plus green tripe and organs. They are both around 18-20 lbs. The Cairn terrier has switched beautifully, basically a model kibble-to-PMR switch example. His skin issues have cleared up, his eyes are bright, his coat is soft and shiny, and that "yeasty" dog smell is gone. The Westie is the one I'm concerned about, and why I'm posting (first time ever - found this site in a Google search and was impressed with the knowledgeable posts and people!). He has not had any skin issues before or any kind of allergic reaction. I was feeding him Acana or Orijen kibble (depending on which I could get the best price on) and am honestly spending the same on raw food as I was on kibble. Since making the switch to PMR, though, the Westie has developed rashes, hot spots, scab-like bumps on his chest, and has been incessantly licking, scratching, and chewing at any part of his body he can reach. Again, he's never had any such problems before. We do know he's got some kind of Addison's disease-like problem, but he's tested negative for every single traditional symptom of Addison's and similar diseases, so not totally sure what's going on there. (just providing plenty of background info in case any of it might be pertinent!). I've truly gotten to the point where I am seriously considering switching him back to kibble, because of how severe his reactions have been to a PMR diet and because he never had any of these issues when eating Acana/Orijen. Nothing in his home environment has changed since the switch. If anyone has any advice, please do let me know! I don't want to make the switch back to kibble because I know PMR is a thousand times better, but I'm at my