Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, I apologize for bringing up a topic that is probably already on this board. I am new to raw recipe and thought I should probably use a pre-mix so that sufficient vitamins and minerals were not lacking in the diet I make. Is anyone familiar with this? I would then add my own ground meat and vegetables.
Thank you,

·
Registered
34 Posts
Yep, that's how I started out with raw. It's way more expensive, but a good way to start out if you can afford it. Then, you can slowly start adding in your own "meals" here and there as you feel comfortable.

·
Registered
4,267 Posts
You can, but it's a lot of effort and time and money. Just feed approximately, 80% meat, 15% bone, 5% offal of different proteins (once your dog is fully transitioned onto raw), add in a raw egg now and then, a sardine or salmon liquid, a touch of coconut oil and I can guarantee you the diet is complete and balanced. Been feeding this way for about 7 years now, and my dog's bloodtests, fecals and urinalysis come back perfect every year.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Does anyone have a recommendation for a pre-mix? I use See Spot Live Longer but they have discontinued it. I have tried Better In The Raw but it's costly. I started out using eggshell, omegas and vit E but got paranoid my dogs were't getting what they need, even though I use different proteins, bone in grinds, sardines, organs.

·
Registered
5 Posts
raw for newbie with puppies

I would really watch how much bone you give it is a medium to large dog breed. Otherwise you will increase chances of too fast growth. stick to 10% bone, 10% offal and 80% everything else muscle etc.