Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Chubs (our misnamed dog) is now completely raw fed. We cut out the canned food for the last 2 days and I think it's gonna stay that way. Apparently I'm not very good at cutting up whole raw chickens though, last night I took a chunk out of one of my knuckles when the knife slipped. I'm sure I'll get better at it with practice. He's been getting raw since I brought him home 2 1/2 months ago. So far he's had chicken, pork, whiting, whole eggs and just recently started small amounts of chicken liver. Our next steps will be Cornish hens (I've already got some for the cats) Turkey, it's on sale now, and eventually beef and salmon.

Up until today I couldn't get any of my cats to eat bones, they wouldn't even try. They would only eat cut pieces of boneless meat. I bought a small rock Cornish hen and cut it up a little for them but all they did lick it and pull a few easy pieces of meat off it. So I took the breast and cut it so there were only a few bones in each piece. Cuervo (my oldest fat cat) finally started crunching up the bones some. I don't think he actually swallowed any, but it's a start. I'm gonna pick up some really small whole fish and see if we can make progress with that.

My kitten has been on raw the longest, about 3 months and she still doesn't get the hang of it. She'll eat small boneless pieces like a champ though I did notice today that she was carrying around a larger piece with bone and trying to figure out what to do with it. She eventually dropped it and gave up.