Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been feeding raw since Sept 2009, my dog has severe IBD. Since feeding raw he has done great except he gets bad diarrhea when fed any amount of organ meats. Is there a replacement to feeding organ meat? FYI, bad diarrhea caused him to get down to 61lbs, raw feeding has put back almost 20lbs., he now weighs 80lbs and looks great. I get very concerned when he has diarrhea and never want to be where he was a few months back. He is also on budesonide, which I am trying to wean him off of, but so far not having much luck (without it he has bad stomach aches and liquid diarrhea). Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
10,128 Posts
What organs are you feeding?

Are you feeding organs with other meat or exclusively in a meal?

How much organ are you feeding at once?

I am not surprised that your dog is getting diarrhea, because it is a very common thing for dogs to experience. Ours do on occasion.

·
Registered
5,009 Posts
How much organ meats are you feeding at a time?
Are you feeding them with or without other things?
Are you feeding bone with them?
How long is the diarrhea lasting after eating the organ meats?

Sorry for so many questions, just trying to see the whole picture to give the best advice possible. Organs are incredibly rich and need to be introduced very slowly in small amounts.

I have a Corgi that has a history of serious digestive issues. Because of this, I have chosen to feed small amounts of organs on an almost daily basis, and usually with bone-in meals. I don't give him full meals of organs, not yet anyway, because what i'm doing now works for us so I see no need to.