Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I am new to raw; about 1 month in. I have three dogs: a 7 year old Terrier mix (Heidi), 4 y.o. Pembroke Welsh Corgi (Titus), and a 8 week old Black Russian Terrier (Sirius).

About 3-4 months ago on the anticipation of adding Sirius to the family, I began to research raw feeding since BRT's tend to have allergy problems.

I am now feeding 100% raw to all three dogs but I have a few questions:

1. I want to confirm how much I should be feeding a large breed puppy. I have read that I should feed 2% of his expected adult weight (around 130lbs if not bigger) in 2-3 meals a day. Should be really be getting approx. 3lbs of food a day? Or should I be feeding him 4% of his current body weight (approx. 15lbs which would be about 1/2lbs of food a day)?

My two smaller dogs are "easy keepers" and tend to stay a consistent weight easily. However, I am worried that I maybe underfeeding my BRT puppy since he seems a little skinny but I don't want to overfeed him which can be detrimental to his joints.

2. I bought ground beef, chicken backs, and a "kennel mix" of beef organs. I know organ meat should be fed maybe once or twice a week (please correct me if that is wrong) but I was reading that ground beef maybe not the best choice because of bacteria issues. Is that true?

I currently feed chicken backs 4-5 days a week with ground beef, and the organ mix 2-3 days a week with ground beef. As you can see the ground beef is the "main" staple in the diet.

If ground beef is not good constant, can you recommend a non-bone meat? I like to feed non-bone meats in the morning and RMB's at night since I can monitor them more closely.

Sorry for the long winded questions but I appreciate any input!

·
Registered
4,655 Posts
Yes, this will be quick so sorry about the reply.
You want to feed you BRT approx. 3 lbs a day three feedings would be ideal.