Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, my name is Aubrey. I am a first-time pet owner. I decided to keep my 3 mo old Labradane puppy (& rename her Zelda Fitzgerald) when she was abandoned at my house in New Orleans by her transient owner a week ago. (I am also new to the New Orleans area.) She has a black coat with slight brindle stripes. I just took her to the vet & besides a Staph infection, which I am now treating her for with medication, she is in perfect health & I have set up an appointment to get her spayed.

I have a lot of time & patience so even though I am not really sure how to go about it, I really want to get her trained well. Right now she lives in the yard and I want to get her to behave well enough to stay and sleep in the house. I also need to get her potty trained to do this. I want to teach her how to fetch, not lean on people (she is going to get to be a really big dog) and I am also interested in learning more about a vegetarian dog diet for her (I have read a little bit about it online).

·
Registered
628 Posts
Well first off if you want her to be an indoor dog you need to bring her in the house now and just start working on this stuff. She isn't going to learn to hold her bladder and bowels while in the house if she's kept outside all of the time. Everything takes time (like a year plus) so everything will be a work in progress. I recommend when she's 4-5 months old you enroll in a formal training class with a trainer and start that way since you've never trained before.