Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm new to dog food chat. I hope someone can help me. We have two springer spaniels, female 11 years old (Sophie) and a male (Bernie)who is 7. Both are neutered and both get along with each other beautifully. The problem is that we are looking after our son's springer spaniel puppy, 7 months old (Boone).

Recently we have noticed urine spots on the carpet. We THINK out 7 year old male, Bernie is upset having Boone invade his space. I have not witnessed Bernie peeing on the carpet. My wife says he looks/acts guilty. Has anyone experienced behavior problems when a puppy is introduced in the house?

Thank you,
Two Springers

·
Premium Member
4,271 Posts
Welcome! I have heard of that sort of behavior before, but never experianced it myself. It sounds like a dominance/territorial type deal possibly.

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
Are you certain it's not the puppy making the mess and your older dog is "expecting" to get in trouble because he "knows" that's bad? We had a elderly dog who would look upset when one of the pups mad a "mes" . All hunched up (he was never punished for it when he was being trained, he just always did this) and would slink away. If we hadn't seen the pup doing it, and his reaction on the first accident, we probably would have been wondering about the old man. Otherwise, maybe give your pup a personal "room" where the puppy isn't allowed to go with his favorite things inside (besides his crate, if he has one).

Reactions: MollyWoppy

·
Registered
239 Posts
Clean it out with an enzyme based cleaner to remove the odor that would keep anyone from marking. Make sure you train the pup and see if the other dogs are really the ones messing.

·
Registered
1,291 Posts