Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I think Im in the right area now to ask about raw feeding...sorry bout that I'm new at ALL of this!
So, I have 2 dogs. A 2 yr old Black lab/hound and a 5 yr old english bulldog. I'm also going to be fostering a 2 yr coonhound. You think feeding raw is going to be more money efficent?
I'm sorry for having so many questions BUT....your saying I can take raw hamburg and drop it in their bowl for a dinner or a raw chicken? Does it matter if it is organic meat or not? What about mixing some yogurt (plain) in with it is that beneficial or not? Your also saying no need for any veggies...meat only? Why when I was a child you would always hear make sure your dog NEVER gets a hold of chicken bones, and now its ok to feed them?
I really trust your judgements and value them I'm just nervous. Like I said Im not a meat eater myself so the thoughts of throwing a turkey neck in the bowl makes me shiver! By the way are you talking about the turkey necks you pull out of a whole turkey....that nasty thing?? Sorry this is so long...I just want to make sure I'm making the right decision! Thanks so much!!

·
Registered
5,009 Posts
So, I have 2 dogs. A 2 yr old Black lab/hound and a 5 yr old english bulldog. I'm also going to be fostering a 2 yr coonhound. You think feeding raw is going to be more money efficent?
If done correctly, yes, absolutely. Most of us keep our costs at ess than $1/lb.

I'm sorry for having so many questions BUT....your saying I can take raw hamburg and drop it in their bowl for a dinner or a raw chicken?
Yup. Canines fall into the category of carnivores, which means that all plant matter is entirely species inappropriate.

Does it matter if it is organic meat or not?
Organic is ideal, yes, but I don't think many of us actually dish out that kind of money. I know I don't. I buy regular meat from the regular grocery store, and it's never organic as my budget doesn't allow it.