Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My seven year old yellow lab, Daisy has just been diagonsed as diabetic.Right now our bigest question is what to feed her that is not only healthy(of course) but also easy ( she only gets dry dog food as does our other dog) and fairly inexpensive. So I don't sound like a heartless cheapskate let me say my husband and I are having a very hard time right now as we lost our 26 year old son in a car accident 58 days ago and it is still a struggle just to get through the day. I am back to work full time as we need the money and the insurance. I love my dog but I am not sure we can handle this right now. I would appreciate any insight. Thanks.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Oh, My heart goes out to you! I can't offer any advice on your diabetic doggie - as I have no experience with that & don't want to give bad advise. However, my thoughts and prayers are with you in this difficult time.

Hang in there - I know there will be helpful answers for you forthcoming....

·
Registered
115 Posts
I'm very sorry for your loss.

I'm not a vet, but my opinion is that if you feed your diabetic doggie one of the high quality kibble, you will save in vet costs and medications.
Definitely try to keep his weight down to a healthy weight. Stay away from alot of carbs in the food. Someone please stop me if I'm wrong! :) My feeling is that a dog food high in quality protein and grain free such as Orijen, Evo, or Wellness Core may really control or even cure the problem all together.

L

·
0 Posts