Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the forum - thanks for letting me in!

I have two dogs, both GSmutts, both rescues from dog pounds. The older of the two is about 10. Her name is Arabella and her nickname has always been "Ol' Irongut" because she has been able to eat anything without ever being sick...until recently. The younger of the two is about 3.5 years and has always been sick. I finally found food that agrees with her and the older starts getting sick. I have been feeding Diamond Lamb & Rice for about six months (we've gone thru about 60 lbs) I supplement w/ baked chicken.

About two months ago Ol' Irongut starts getting diarreha in the middle of the night, starts slowly, once per week and builds up to three times per night. I get some meds from the vet (bacteria infection fighter, can't remember the name) and it clears up. It came back again last week so I started the meds again and I switched foods. I had some crappy Iams lying around for emergencies and the diarreha stopped. Now she has red blotches on her belly! She has had this previously and it was diagnosed by the vet as coming from dye in her food. This was when I first got her and I was stupidly feeding her Gravy Train.

Sorry this is so long. I'm at my wit's end! I'm on a very tight budget, as it is now their food costs way more than mine. I can easily get a cheaper brand for Irongut, but I'm now concerned about the blotches and what in the food could be causing it and how common the mystrey ingredient is. Thanks in advance for any advice given.

·
Registered
333 Posts
It seems like Arabella's condition is more food oriented than anything else. Depending on where you live, you can go raw. Feeding your dogs raw can be and is a lot cheaper in many states. Many people have talked about Walmarts selling meat, etc.