Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I stopped by walmart last night to look around since I never go there, I picked up some chicken thighs, livers, gizzards, pork necks , but I found these turkey necks and they are huge!! normally the ones I get are like 1" thick, maybe 3-4 long, but these are like 2.5" thick and 6" long!! the whole time I'm thinking " god, I hope its really a turkey.."..lol, on the package it says natural with no additives, I highly doubt this turkey was not injected with steroids.. :eek:

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
What you are seeing is a normal turkey neck. This is what you should be feeding your dogs. The ones you usually see in most grocery stores have been cut. Most of the turkey necks I have been feeding for 7 years are around a foot long and weigh about a pound. After re-reading your post, you may still have necks that have been cut in half and come either 2 or 4 in a package. I buy them in 30# cases and they come whole like I mentioned. The necks I use have to be bent to fit in a gallon ziplock and I can get about 2 in one ziplock.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Interesting, the ones I got before werent sliced across, they were like mini versions of the ones I got yesterday, but I guess this is a better deal.
Do you know if a store bought tripe is ok? I've heard somewhere that natural tripe should be green, not white since its bleached, but I havent seen green tripe anywhere.
thanks

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
Interesting, the ones I got before werent sliced across, they were like mini versions of the ones I got yesterday, but I guess this is a better deal.
I have seen small turkey necks. I think they are called "young hen necks".

Do you know if a store bought tripe is ok? I've heard somewhere that natural tripe should be green, not white since its bleached, but I havent seen green tripe anywhere.