Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I made this profile just to get a few more sets of eyes (hopefully) on a problem which is strictly confined to one of my dogs. I’ve been feeding raw for about ten years now, and I’m quite comfortable on the ratios, the difference in feeding puppies vs. adults in terms of weight and ratios, and I thought I wouldn’t need to harass anyone on a forum anymore... but here I am!

The issue that I am having is with my eight month old standard poodle mix. He’s an active guy, and very treat motivated in terms of training. We do multiple training sessions a week (agility, rally, obedience) and long walks every single day (between two and three miles a day, more on weekends.) My frustration comes from the fact that he’s suddenly skipping meals... like, full days of eating.

I feed my 8 year old once a day, and she eats no issue. She gets about 1.1lbs and weighs about 62lbs. She doesn’t look like an eight year old. She’s got gorgeous teeth, perfect skin and coat, and while she sometimes skips a meal, the next day she’s back to eating normally. I consider it a fasting day. As a puppy she never missed a meal... which is probably why this is so frustrating for me. My puppy is an anorexic, I swear. He’s in great athletic weight, his poop is normal, his teeth look great. His energy level is off the charts, no vomiting (although he did puke in the car today, he did drink some salt water at the beach so I’m not surprised.)

He ate normally yesterday. He had duck neck, chicken trim, beef kidney, a little yogurt and beef spleen for breakfast, totaling about .5lbs. For dinner he had about a .6lb lamb shank, but I take the bone away once he starts crunching it up because he’d already had his 1.92oz of bone for the day.