Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone:) I got a 4 year old male Labrador / pit mix. He weight almost 100 lbs. He used to eat purina until i started learning how horrible this food was for him so i switched him to merrick GRAIN FREE because i heard it was the best from workers at petco. I switched it very gradually. I started hearing very weird sounds his stomach was making after eating merrick. It wouldnt go away and he also was very gassy. he also seemed to be a little uncomfortable but i didnt know if its because his stomach hurts or he just has extra energy and wants to play because he cries alot. His teeth and breath seem to have got worst as well as his coat. Im so confused because i thought i made a way better switch from a bad food to a great top high food but then why is all this happening?! I was wondering if anyone out their can help me by telling me of a better quality food ? Ive been looking into orijen. Thanks! :):smile:

·
Registered
42 Posts
It is very possible that the Merrick grain-free is too rich for your dog. I would recommend trying Acana instead of Orijen, as it is not as rich. Orijen is almost the same protein/fat wise as Merrick grain-free. Another great option to try would be Fromm's. I have never really heard of a dog that does bad on that food, unless it was allergy related. Remember that some foods will serve a dog well while others they just cannot tolerate for whatever reason. It can be a timely process, but be patient and you will find the perfect food for him :) Good luck!

·
Registered
908 Posts
Depends on which Purina formula you were feeding. One of my 4 dogs (poodle) has a super sensitive stomach. He's a little over a year now, but the entire time I've had him, I kept trying him on the "best" foods- fromm, merrick, the honest kitchen, etc. His stomach was in bad shape. Vomiting, diarrhea, gurgly tummy, Merrick made him lick his private parts an awful lot.