Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I currently feed my 60lb lab mix, Ellie, Wellness Super 5 Mix kibble. My room mate decided to get a great dane puppy and with a little prodding he's decided to go with Chicken Soup for the Pet Lovers Soul food which is $35 for a 35 lb bag compared to my $55 for a 30 lb bag. I was thinking about maybe switching Ellie to the cheaper kibble and using the extra twenty bucks a month to add something to it. I'm open to meat, eggs, yogurt, whatever you guys think would be best. Or do you think it would be better to just keep her on Wellness with nothing added. Would twenty a month even be enough to add something? I'm a vegetarian and have never bought meat or even looked at prices. I know twenty dollars a month doesn't seem like much but hey, i'm a college student so every penny counts. Also i've been reading that it may not be okay to combine raw meat with kibble. Does this apply to cook meats and eggs as well. I'm new to all of this so any help is really appreciated! Thank you!!

·
Registered
876 Posts
Tell you roomate to buy the chicken soup large breed puppy formula and feed that until the pup stops growing. Here's a link on large breed puppy food http://dogfoodchat.com/forum/dry-canned-dog-food/5794-grain-free-formulas-lbp.html

If your going to feed kibble and raw, feed raw in the morning and kibble at night. Kibble takes longer to digest than raw. You can mix cooked meats with kibble. You could feed raw egg with kibble. Shop for sales and try not to spend over $1 a pound on meats. Try to spend $.50-$1 range.

·
Registered
659 Posts
Lets see. A sixty pound dog would eat about 19-20 ounces of meat/bone/organ a day if completely raw fed, that would be about 2% of her weight. You can just substitute about 25% of her usual 'complete and balanced' kibble for fresh food without unbalancing the diet.