Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still very new to this. Only about 2 months in!
So I would like to know how you do your food prep, if any...
Here is what I do, I am in desprate need of help. It seems to take forever...

-I shop for my two dogs (Lab and Maltese) 2 times a month. Keep in mind I store their meat in our freezer! (keep in mind, we live in Japan w/ NONO room for a extra fridge/freezer!!!)

-Once I buy, I come home and put everything in groups on the counter.

-I get out sandwich size bags for the Maltese and Quart size for the Lab

-For the lab, I get whole pieces and toss into the bags and seal them. Sometimes I will mix meat w/ fish, fish w/ pork, pork w/ organs, organs w/ shellfish, shellfish w/ chicken, chicken w/ turkey, throw a fresh egg in every so on and so on w/ a good mix of all!

-The maltese on the other hand is 2POUNDS! She seems VERY intimidated w/ large pieces of meat, so I cut chunks, according to how she likes them, and add them to her bags. PLUS, she is long growing facial hair, that I HATE her rubbing and getting all yucky in raw meat! So bite size chunks are easier/cleaner.

-One baggie holds ONE meal per-dog.
so at the end of this process, I have a TON of bagged up , ready to thaw meals for the dogs.

I really think because of Ponyos issues it takes me forever..so im curious to know how you all deal w/ prep'ing your dogs meat!!!!!! And PLEASE, any help would be great!!!

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
I do basically the same as you except since both my dogs are the same size, I mix 2 meals/bag(1 meal for each dog). I don't mix up meals in a bag. In other words, one group of bags will be nothing but chicken quarters. Another group will be chicken backs. Another group will be beef heart, etc. There is no need of giving more than one meat source in a meal. You can if you wish but I don't think anything useful is accomplished and it seems to be more trouble.

·
Registered
26 Posts