Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm a newbie to THIS forum, am a long time Rottweiler owner [since 1980] and presently am the MOM in chief to the very BEST Rottie girl in history= my girl Zev and she's the former ruler of Zeus the Giant Schnauzer, who is my heart dog along with his boss Zev. Zev is presently 11 yrs young and while not her former athletic self, she's still game to chase a squirrel or cat; in her heyday, she was fast enough to catch and terminate both. Sadly, she's got severe OCD in her shoulders from years of punishing jumping off our 5 ft. tall deck to get those squirrels. The fact is, while her hips are good, her shoulders aren't and this really impacts her quality of life now. I've opted to forego any surgery at her age, it's highly invasive to the joint capsule and would take forever to heal assuming she made it thru anestesia safely. I keep her well dosed on Fish oil caps and a horse glucosamine/MSM supplement [ArthroSoothe Gold] and she manages to plug along. she's retired now from long hikes like in her past and this alone makes her sad. She's a former distance swimmer in our local reservoir, so retirement is not easy on her. she goes lame if we walk much.