Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks to the GREAT economy, we haven't had any work in going on a month now and the dogs are running low on food. I have been investigating raw for about four months now, hinting around more and more to my husband to help him understand how it works. We have been worring soooo much about feeding the dogs and the other day my husband came up with this idea. We have absolutly hundreds and hundreds of rabbits and squirrels. He is shooting rabbits, cutting off the heads and skinning them and feeding them to the dogs whole. Squirrels too, to mix it up. They absolutly LOVE them! If they do well with it, we will keep them on it. It's better than no food! I just hope they will do OK on it.

·
Registered
10,128 Posts
How long have they been eating this way?

If it were me I would gut them as well, saving the innards for another day. That way all they get at first would be meat and bone. And that is what we tell people to start out with (usually chicken though).

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I suggested gutting to my husband, but he feels like it would be hard to do without pulling out the organs as well. They did have chicken about two or three months ago, and they did fine on it. We just don't have anymore, and NO money right now. Our family is helping us out.

·
Registered
219 Posts
The idea is to restrict organs from the diet in the beginning because it can cause diarrhea. However, if they have been eating like this a few days and still seem fine there should be no reason to remove them now.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I also wondered about the heads? We tossed them away not being sure whether to feed them or not. Can they eat rabbit heads, or no?

·
Registered
10,128 Posts