Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey! I'm new to this. Just wondering what type of dry dog food to feed my dog. I have a 15 mo. old bullmastiff. He's kinda like a rescue, I guess you could say. I got him about 3 mo ago and he was in poor health. He only weighed 65lbs and had demodex mange really bad, hardly any hair on him. But now, after quite a bit vet visits and $$$$ he looks great. He's up to 87lbs now and grew his hair back. I'm feeding him what he was eating before (Hunter's Edge) from a local feed store. Trying to find something better for him. He is by no means a hunting dog. Bullmastiffs are lazy!! and i think that brand of food has to much protein in it; but didn't want to change food right away since he was having all other kinds of problems too. Now that he is healthy I want to change but don't know what to get. I have been doing a lot of research, but of course everybody contradicts the other person so I really don't know. Any suggestions? Don't want to spend a whole lot on food, but want something decent for him.

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
Hunter's Edge is not a high protein food although it is a little on the high side with fat. The ingredients are pretty crappy. Well, no, they are very crappy.

When you ask a question like you did, everyone is going to tell you the food they feed is the best. Else they wouldn't be feeding it to their own dogs. To get a higher quality dog food you will have to pay for it.

If I had to feed kibble, I would feed EVO or Orijen. Both are much higher protein than you are presently feeding but I think you have a misconception that a dog who does not move much needs less protein. Protein builds muscle.

·
Registered
4,655 Posts