Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've only just begun researching a raw diet for my dog. I've asked some people I know about local places to get various cuts of meat and someone suggested I look at the website I linked below (University's ag school).

Prices here look good (although I'm far from an expert... I typically buy the exact same stuff every time for myself so don't know what most meat costs), but I really don't know exactly which cuts would be best.

Mizzou Meat Market

Now... just need to find a good source for poultry and fish (I know there are better options around here than the grocery store... just haven't found them yet).

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
You don't want to buy any of the stuff at that place. It's all way too expensive. Beef, because of the cost, will be a minor component in the diet anyway. Find poultry sources first. It's the cheapest and it will be what you start with. Pork stuff will be the next most expensive and the thing you will probably feed 2nd after your dog has adjusted to poultry.

Check out my web site at Skylar, Zack, and Abby on the WEB for ideas on how to begin feeding raw and how to begin buying food. The things you will feed most often will be stuff for less than $1/lb. The majority of my dog's food is around $.50/lb or less.

I guess it depends on the size of your dog. If you have a small dog, it won't eat a lot and price isn't that big of deal. I have 2 Great Danes so price is a major consideration.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
I have been told that pork butt roast and flank steaks are good red meat sources. I believe flank steak is pretty reasonable...at least where I live. :)

Definitely start with chicken though like RFD said. That is what I did with our boys and I can tell you with all honesty, the transition was perfect. No tummy issues what so ever. :)

·
Registered
4,655 Posts