Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Pam, I stumbled across the forum as I was searching on pet food ingredients and allergies. My 18 month Golden all of a sudden is experiencing problems and one of the things I am doing right now is an elimination diet and trying to figure out what is the right kind of food for her although I am not entirely convinced that food is the cause of her new found allergies. How does eating the same dog food for 18 months all of sudden cause food allergies? Or is something else responsible for triggering her issue?

Nice to meet you and I am looking forward to searching the forum for some answers which I am sure have already been asked by others.

We live in the SF Bay Area and I am a professional photog of pets and people. (While my dog doesn't have a cone on her head) we normally do obedience, agility and rally training together.

·
Registered
3,085 Posts
Hi Pam and welcome to the forum! :smile: Nice to have you here.

I love SF, such a beautiful place! I know you will find a lot of helpful info. here. What are you currently feeding your Golden?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Sara, thanks for the nice welcome.

I was feeding her Eukanuba adult small breed kibble (cause she likes the smaller pieces). She used Zuke's mini chicken treats for training along with the peanut butter flavored ones. I usually don't use the peanut butter treats but that was all I could find at the time. Both chicken and peanut butter treats have no wheat, corn or soy.

Also, recently we started a different treat during agility called Bowsers Best Buffalo bites. Apparently the ingredients on that are Bison meat, soy protein, water, milk, soy flour. I can't recall if it coincides with her problems--but seeing that she wasn't doing soy before maybe a factor.

By the way, her name is Karma, forgot to mention that. :smile: