Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Molly is my 1-1/2 yr. old Labrador/Boxer mix and I got her from the Rescue Center in Benicia/Vallejo here in California a month ago.

I have had no experience caring for a mix breed as my first pet was a Dalmatian. I find there are not that many books/resources about mix breeds and what to expect. She's a pretty mellow, affectionate, but high energy dog. I feed her home-cooked food and often wonder how much I should feed her. I feed her morning and evening, but she gobbles up her food pretty fast and I don't know if she's full or not! she has gained 12lbs. since I got her a month and a half ago. her ribs aren't showing as much anymore.

Hope someone out there can share some info.
Thanks...
Roz and Molly

·
Registered
523 Posts
Hi, Welcome! My rescue dog pretty much did the same thing - she gained around 10 lbs.. I'm new at this too however, I have been going by what the bag says and then I stick to it as I'm trying to have her lose some of the weight she recently gained. You'll learn alot here. I have and still am. Good luck!

·
Registered
42 Posts
Hi and welcome from Zoe Melvin and I :smile: In my experience you are going to have a dog that likes to eat LOL Labs love to eat as do boxers. Both are prone to food allergies so you might want to stick to a non grain high quality kibble. Good Luck !

L

·
0 Posts
Welcome to the forum --- whether a purebred or a mixed-breed all dogs are pretty much the same, IMO. A dog is a dog ..... if they seem to be doing well on what you are feeding them, then it's all good. Keep them at a good weight so they can stay active and healthy longer.

·
Registered
61 Posts