Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I was advised by a holistic vet to go ahead and give my dogs heartgard, but supplement them with milk thistle (as a liver detox) for 7 days afterwards.

Thoughts?

I am also still concerned about fleas/ticks this year, we are seeing a TON of both already! :(

·
Banned
1,713 Posts
heartguard iS NOT AN ANTI FLEA/tick it is an anti heartworm. i used to give shane that but i use interceptor now because my vet claims ts better.

for fleas/ticks i use vectra which my vet claims is better than frontline plus.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
heartguard iS NOT AN ANTI FLEA/tick it is an anti heartworm. i used to give shane that but i use interceptor now because my vet claims ts better.

for fleas/ticks i use vectra which my vet claims is better than frontline plus.
I am a vet tech, I know what Heartgard does.

I was addressing flea/tick control as a separate concern, since we've seen so many ticks already this year.

Danemomma: Apparently ivermectin can induce hepatitis....so she says.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
For fleas and ticks I use vectra3D I just bought a 6 month supply it was 105$~ But gee whiz I do get that 10% discount beacause I have 4 dogs haha! But I have seriously found this to work. I have walked my dogs in wooded areas without it and wow ticks are disgustingly attaching themselves to the dogs where then I use the vectra3D ~ waalaa, I am telling you no ticks no nothing! I was very leery of trying this product becasue of the application you know applying it to their skin but they had no reaction and it works! I should work for them now and I do need a job haha! But my vet swore by this product and I can attest to it really working! All 4 of my dogs are tick free with it!
I got Interceptor also for the dogs and the heart worm test though just for one right now!

Reactions: spookychick13

·
Banned
1,713 Posts