Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Someone from CraigsList has ground Venison for nothing...is it good to give?

·
Banned
493 Posts
i wont speak too much being that i am new to the raw feeding thing, but it would think that it would be great to give your dog. just not too often being that it's ground, because the calcium phosphorous radio would be unbalanced if ground was given too often without the bone.

·
Registered
5,009 Posts
Absolutely!
Of course you don't want ground meat to be a huge part of the diet, but for the sake of variety, fantastic! A lot of raw feeders feed a gound meal maybe once per week or so. Some of the beef I feed is ground because it tends to be really expensive otherwise.

Ground meat is not going to throw off the Ca:p ratio any more than a boneless slab of meat would. Not every meal needs to be or should be bone inclusive.

ETA: if I could get game meat at a reasonable price, I'd probably feed it twice a week, even if it were ground.

·
Registered
3,550 Posts
Yeah I say go for it or send it to me if you don't want it! :biggrin:

I got a bunch of ground elk and beef of cl and I was so excited about it. I feed ground meals a couple times a week because i got so much of it.

·
Banned
493 Posts
Absolutely!
Of course you don't want ground meat to be a huge part of the diet, but for the sake of variety, fantastic! A lot of raw feeders feed a gound meal maybe once per week or so. Some of the beef I feed is ground because it tends to be really expensive otherwise.

Ground meat is not going to throw off the Ca:p ratio any more than a boneless slab of meat would. Not every meal needs to be or should be bone inclusive.

ETA: if I could get game meat at a reasonable price, I'd probably feed it twice a week, even if it were ground.