Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I know that some of you on here have great danes and I have read that some cuts should be avoided because they have small bones. Things like chicken drum sticks and chicken necks. I was wondering what other cuts of meats are too small to feed to a Great Dane?

Also the coop that I am looking to order from has pork neck bones for the same price as chicken backs. Are those good for meals or more of a treat thing?

We are going to try to start Grimm on raw next week!

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Hey all, I know that some of you on here have great danes and I have read that some cuts should be avoided because they have small bones. Things like chicken drum sticks and chicken necks. I was wondering what other cuts of meats are too small to feed to a Great Dane?
Well, I'm not an expert on this yet, and I don't own Great Danes, but I do know that some people here say to avoid small cut because some dogs don't chew them and just try to swallow them, and it could be potentially dangerous. It might get lodged in their throat or they may not be able to digest them. The smaller bones aren't going to make much of a difference unless they're big enough to chew on, because they're always pliable enough to where they're not going to do damage. Cooked bones, however, are dangerous.

·
Registered
25 Posts
I would love to hear more thoughts on this. Someone suggested I try a turkey neck as a treat to see if they like it, at the same time people say the bones can be a problem. I still have a major concern before feeding my danes the RMB diet because of possible choking or obstruction.

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
I would love to hear more thoughts on this. Someone suggested I try a turkey neck as a treat to see if they like it, at the same time people say the bones can be a problem. I still have a major concern before feeding my danes the RMB diet because of possible choking or obstruction.