Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it ok to mix a grain free wet food with a grain inclusive kibble? I kind of remember reading this messed with a dog's digestion, but can't remember where.

To be specific, she likes Wellness/Holistic Select kibble and I just switched her to Fromm wet which is grain free last week.

Stools were a little wet and light in color first few days but look good now.

·
Registered
1,443 Posts
I am not an expert but I can't imagine that this would be bad unless your dog has a sensitivity to grains. In that case, you would want to strictly feed grain free kibble or raw.

I currently feed my standard poodle a mix of grain free dry kibble and dry kibble with grains. Not sure if the wet food makes a difference, though.

·
Registered
216 Posts
I don't see why there would be any reason not to feed a grain free wet with a grain inclusive kibble. I've done it, I have plenty of customers who do it, never heard of a problem.

You might see a change in stool any time you switch or add another food, but that should go away

·
Registered
1,791 Posts
you will see SOME people say that mixing any foods can disrupt certain balances in the foods. I'm not an expert in the area but try searching from some information on the subject.

Not sure I buy into it completely...but you should know there IS an argument against mixing foods. Listen to it yourself to asses wether you buy it or not. good luck.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Dogs are naturally hunters and scavengers. I don't think they're systems are so delicate that they have to be fed as precisely as I've seen suggested at times. If they can't find animals to hunt they will scavenge for whatever they can get. Even if they've just had meat they will often continue to scavenge, meaning things in their tummy will get mixed. These are dogs, not orchids

·
Registered
1,791 Posts