Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondered if anyone else on this forum has fostered mill survivors before? I have been fostering for about three months and have rescued several pups and adults but now have a five year old female German Shep puppy mill survivor. This dog needs more than fostering, she needs rehabilitation. We are slowly working on establishing some trust and socializing her. She is very sweet but very timid and anxious. She makes loops around the room areas with her tail between her legs and her belly down and she isn't comfortable approaching people for physical affection. She is eating (I home-cook for my dogs so that helps dogs in distress like this.) and she gets along fine with my dogs (I have three large dogs who are all adults) but she doesn't lay with them or play.

She has shown little bits of progress every day for the last week (she came to us on Monday the 24th) but it is slow-going.

Thought maybe this would be a good place to discuss any experiences with fostering, easing mill dogs into placement and into society in general.

·
Registered
876 Posts
I rescued my dog at 1.5 years old. He was in a cage 24/7. Not allowed out to relieve himself. It took awhile and alot of work, but he is perfectly behaved around people and other dogs. I think your doing great with your fosters. Your giving them a quality diet and a great home. Hopefully you can find some permanent homes for them with people that have alot of patience. With the right home, they will make perfect pets:wink:

L

·
0 Posts