Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I moved from Ontario to British Columbia with my pug 3 months ago. Since moving here, she is either constipated for a few days (sometimes no poop for 5 days!), or she has soft poo or diarrhea. Some days she does have normal poops but it's not like when I lived in Ontario.

We have been a lot more active since moving here, we take 1-2 hour walks each day, plus go on trails ranging 3-5 hours a few times a week.

When she has diarrhea or very soft poo I give her SBO (soil based organisms) probiotics. After a few doses of that her tummy gets back to normal. But today I got home from work and for the first time in her life she had diarrhea in her crate, I had to give her a bath because she had it all over her paws :(

I love raw feeding and I've been feeding this way for 4+ years, but I'm starting to get frustrated. I don't understand why her new "normal" is not pooing for days at a time, or soft poo/diarrhea.

I have also tried giving her grapefruit seed extract for 5 days in case she got giardia or something.

Any advice or tips? I feel so bad for her with all these new tummy troubles.

·
Registered
4,267 Posts
She's been on raw forever, so this is weird. Sounds to me like it's something more environmental than the food she is eating as the only thing that has changed is her environment. Try going back to basics, chicken, no skin, slightly bonier than normal. Have you used DE in her food? The other thought I had is that I guess you are also buying your meat from different sources now. Are you sure it's not enhanced in any way?
Is she acting normal otherwise?

·
Registered
1,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #3