Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was puppy sitting for a 9 month old golden retriever a couple weeks ago. Because I am a vet tech, and because I feed raw, of course I HAD to look at her teeth. I shouldn't have been surprised by the tartar already built up, but I kind of was...she is only 9 months old and eats Canidae! I have definatley seen worse teeth, but this isn't a good sign for such a young dog! Jemma's teeth were probably that bad before I started raw, but now hers are pearly white again!! (she is 18 months old). I just like to see the benefits of raw in action and pass them along!!

Here is also an excerpt from an online article about canine dental health:
http://vetmedicine.about.com/cs/diseasesall/a/dentalcare.htm
How is the rest of the body affected by bad teeth?
Infected gums and teeth aren't just a problem in the mouth -- the heart, kidneys, intestinal tract, and joints may also be infected. The tartar and any infected areas of the mouth contain a multitude of bacteria than can 'seed' to other parts of the body.

**Sorry the pictures are a bit blurry...dogs wouldn't hold still****

9 mo/old Golden Retriever's teeth:

Jemma's teeth:

Google images of a dog with bad teeth...:eek:
(and this isn't the worst of em!)

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
You're not the only one. I look at dogs' teeth all the time. I've seen a lot of dogs and encountered a lot of young ones with tarter buildup. 9 months is really young. Tarter really bugs me. I try to keep Aspen's teeth as clean as can be. I really do believe that if some owners took better care of their dogs teeth, a lot of problems can be avoided. It all starts with a healthy mouth, IMO. :smile:

·
Registered
10,128 Posts