Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently adopted a 7 year old dachshund who has had a history of allergies. When he was surrendered to an animal shelter he had no hair on his hind quarters because he'd chewed it off. His hair had grown back in by the time we adopted him. He scratches and licks constantly. I'm trying now to find a dog food that he can tolerate. Wellness was recommended so I tried that. He has diarrhea often it seems to be caused by the food, but I'm not sure. I don't know if I feed him too much or what. About 1/3 cup twice a day is what I'm feeding...perhaps a little more.

Does anyone have any advice for a good food for a dog with allergies? This is my first time to post...hopefully I did it correctly.

Thanks.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
We've tried Wellness Small breed (Super 5 mix adult health) but not Core. Both our dogs seemed to get diahrrea regularly on this Wellness product. Is Wellness Core different? I've seen it in our PetCo but nothing called Wellness Core Ocean Formula that I recall.

I'll look for the other two you mentioned.

Thanks so much. I've tried to get our vet to recommend something but she won't. Her waiting room is full of Science Diet though.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts
Its possible that petco doesent carry the core formula, basically its grain free unlike the regular one, a lot of dogs have grain intolerance, so grain free seems to work better for them and with allergies, the fish formula seems to work pretty well.
I get core from a store called Pet Supermarket, but I dont know if its located in every state. You can enter the zip on their website at the top to find store locations:
Pet Supermarket

You can also try a food called Pinnacle, they make a hypollergenic formulas with duck/potato and trout/potato. My dog likes this better then California Natural.