Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
939 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this will be Pandora's 5th day on raw. So far she has had a chicken quarter twice a day, everyday. Since starting this, she has had diarrhea for every bowel movement. :frown: I tried removing the skin and fat...no difference.

As I type this she is eating 2 chicken backs from the case I purchased today. I think she might need more bone.

Wish me luck......

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Good luck!

Chicken backs might just be the thing to get her started on. Knowing what situation she was coming from, she was probably on the worst food, and I can imagine it's going to take a lot to settle her stomach. I don't know, though, because we all know that I'm no expert. XD

Personally, though, I will always keep backs on hand for cases of diarrhea. :biggrin::biggrin:

·
Registered
26 Posts
My Bullmastiff puppy (9 weeks) has been on RAW diet for about 10 days now. He gets fish in the morning and chicken in the noon and evening meals. I have given him chicken back, chicken thigh+leg, gizzard and liver so far. There was no dhiarria so far.

One thing I noticed was that the bone content of the meals I give him (except fish and boneless breast) is way too high (probably around 30-40%). The chicken back and the thigh+leg seems to have much more bone that 10%.

When you say chicken quarter do you mean the thigh+leg part or something else?

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Chanaka, from what I've heard, you shouldn't feed organ meats until about a two or three months into feeding raw. Also, you should start with just one meat source at a time and keep with it for two weeks. I'm sure that there are a lot more experts on this than me, but just saying. :wink:

·
Registered
26 Posts
Hi xxshaelxx,
Thanks. I saw that organ part in the forum after I fed him the liver. Anyway, glad that he didn't have any dhiaria on that. Probably because that was given along with chicken backs.