Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if anyone else has had any experience with this,

one of our dogs loves his nylabone, and was chomping away last night as usual, we noticed a spot of blood, so i though he might be pressing too hard on his gums.

after taking it away, and investigating further we found BOTH his upper back molars are split to the gumline. we are heading the the vets this aft, can't wait to see how much this will cost.

is he too hard of a chewer to ever give him nylabones again?

any thoughts/ suggestions are much appreciated.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
Wow! I thought nylabones were good for dogs. Hearing this guess not! I know they even make edible nylabones. I have had no experience with this. I bought the dogs these when they were puppies and funny none of them liked them so I ended up throwing them away! Actualy my one yellow Lab I got when she was 5 months old did sort of chew these but it was the white one and not really enough to actualy make a mark in the bone!
Sorry to hear this! Hope your pups ok!

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks, just got back from our appt. they will be extracting both teeth as they are fracture right up the centre to the roots... we were lucky to get a surgery time of tomorrow morning...
sticking with rubbery kong type bones from now on.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
Hope everything goes well tommorrow which I am sure things will! I wonder if this is common or just something unusual that happened! My dogs love filled kongs to chew also! Get your sweetie a soft kong! Mine love those! They actually chewed up the huge kong snake! And thats another thing I thought they couldnt chew up!! Dogs gotta love 'em! Gee now you really have a legit complaint letter for the nylabone company!

·
Registered
1,214 Posts