Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We took our 2 y/o boxer to vet yesterday for ear infection. He said it looks she has food allergies b/c of the way her ears and feet look. She chews her feet a lot. She is on antibiotics and steroids now She has been eating Purina one Lamb and rice for a long time. After she came off puppy food when she turned a year is when she started having problems.

The vet told us to do food trial with science diet zd $58. for 18 lbs that will last not even 2 weeks. After reading on this web site I am clueless what dog food is good. He said after 8 weeks of food trial. We would put her back on old food to see if she does it again. THen hopefully she would be able to eat the Science Diet salmon and potato.

Any suggestions??

·
Registered
195 Posts
I'm fairly new at this - I'm sure one of the more experienced members will input. I highly recommend not feeding Science Diet or Purina (in any form).

I feed Blue Buffalo and my dogs have stopped itching / scratching /chewing on themselves. I switched from Nutro to Castor & Pollux (which has been bought out), then from C&P to Blue Buffalo. They are doing well on it.

No one food is good for all dogs, in my opinion.

There is another thread here that lists the best brands of kibble, and yet another that talks about raw feeding.

Good luck to you and your dogs.

·
Registered
628 Posts