Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to raw. I have an APBT with allergies, and before I resort to any kind of medication for her environmental allergies, I want to rule out food allergies as a major player.

I was initially feeding her Big Country Raw Pure Duck (70% muscle meat, 10% organ meat, 20% bone content). I know now that this bone content is incredibly high. She had very firm chalk poops right away. But she also pooped soon after eating, in much smaller amounts than on kibble of course, and she wasn't having problems until about three weeks in. I think a bit of undigested bone must have cut or otherwise irritated her intestines. She suddenly had bright red blood in her stool which progressed to explosive diarrhea and vomiting. The last time she ate the duck, she vomited all bone and no meat.

I wasn't able to receive any help online, so I fasted her for a day, fed her sweet potatoes, and reintroduced her old kibble (Natural Balance LID Fish and Sweet Potato). Her poop went back to normal within a week. But her terrible yeast smell came back too. At least I was able to confirm that she is definitely allergic to something even in a limited-ingredient diet. :)

I decided to start her back on buffalo (75% muscle meat, 10% organ meat, 15% bone content) since the bone is finely ground in this mix. Now she's been constipated. She didn't poop at all yesterday and her poop today only came after a very long walk. It was very wet, dark brown, and left a mucus residue on the grass. It's only been half a week, so I'm willing to be patient, but I saw immediate improvement on the duck...

Any thoughts? Might she be OK with a mix of duck (I still have some in the freezer) and something "mushier" like buffalo to balance out the bone? I'm vegetarian, so I don't handling or processing meat more than I have to, but perhaps premade blends aren't going to work for her.

·
Registered
13 Posts