Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie, and I'd like some advice, since I can't seem to find a vet who advocates raw feeding.
My four-year old male cocker spaniel has been eating meat, bones, organ meat, eggs and supplements like omega 3 fish oil, probiotics, virgin coconut oil. I used to give him veggies and fruits since he likes them, but this is a dog who's really predisposed to malassezia skin infections so anything that's yeast-friendly--carbs, veggies--will make his yeast go into overdrive again. We've battled his skin problems for so long (he used to be partly bald, with itchy, crusty skin) and the raw diet seemed to be the only thing that worked for him. Now he just has one yeasty spot on his neck, but his fur has grown out beautifully.

The problem now is he seems to be suffering from arthritis. On some days, he limps pretty badly, one foreleg raised. He doesn't want to climb up the stairs, and can't seem to land very well from high steps. On other days, he's just fine, can walk and run. No history of trauma recently, so we don't think it's a sprain or anything.

We're waiting for his tests results to come back, and the vet said we might be feeding him too much with protein, which she says makes his uric acid shoot up and give him arthritis. She also added that a diet too rich in protein will increase the possibility of him getting gallstones.

Anyone out there experience this? I'm so anxious. Am I making things worse for him by what I'm feeding? Maybe I'm getting the proportions wrong? Please help.

·
Registered
4,655 Posts
Tell us alittle more about how much your dog weighs and how much a day your feeding. What are you feeding on a weekly basis.

·
Registered
105 Posts
I have heard of Raw fed dogs getting Gout, maybe he has this? I am not a raw feeder, so hopefully someone with more experience will speak up...

Do you use Apple Cider Vinegar to treat his yeast flare ups?

·
Registered