Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a 9 month old puppy (8lb mix) that I found in the our neighborhood. She has sever allergies, causing red, scabby skin down her back, hot spots in her armpits, and of course itching. As well as yeast on her skin.
Per her vet, I had switched her to Blue Buffalo basic's salmon and potato diet, with her vet thinking she may be allergic to poultry. She has done two rounds of antibiotics and steroids, with the allergies coming back each time, even after switching her food.
I can't do an allergy test on her until she is a year old. In the meantime, I'm trying more food options.

For the past two days I've taken her off kibble and switched to giving her sweet potato, kale and fish (frozen whiting fillets) all lightly steamed. I'm also giving her a few teaspoons of goat kefir at night to help with any leaky gut issues.
I'm not a pro on dog food by any means, was curious if this diet is safe? I figured it can't be any worse than dried kibble. However I'm considering switching to prey model raw diet.
Any advice on food and allergies would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
Most of what I've read says no to white potato. If you go to the dog food advisors forum, then the dog food ingredients page, you'll find a stickie with grain/potato free foods.

I don't think what you're currently feeding her is balanced.

·
Registered
684 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Avoiding allergic situations is the best method, but there are times when things get bad, such as seasonal blooming. One of the best practices is to give your dog regular baths to keep dirt and debris out of their fur and off their skin. Most allergic reactions are natural to dust irritation, and bathing helps keep the dirt off your dog and down the drain.