Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have two lab mix dogs, almost 6 years old. When they were about two, I switched them to a raw food diet and it went very well until my little girl decided she wasn't eating it anymore. She appears to have an aversion to cool meat. When I feed it to her, she gets it in her mouth and then makes this gagging look on her face and lets it fall out.

My little boy loved it.

So, I tried just gently heating it for a little while and that was better, then she hated that too.

I really want to go back to raw. She is developing severe ear infections, is flighty and nervous a lot of the time, and in the past month has begun having serious diarrhea.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Instead of raw, I have just been feeding them cooked meat that we eat, and then giving bones to chew. I would feel so much better with an all raw diet.

·
Registered
222 Posts
First off, I'm new to raw but I have one who is similar to yours. Our bluetick mix, Lucky is real picky and always tries to hold out thinking she may get something better. She will pick up something like a chicken quarter, then just drop it and look at me, Walk around checking out what everyone else has. By then, someone else has gone and eaten hers. I don't give her anymore. She just missed out. I guess its like tough love. She has done this a couple of times for about three days in a row. By then, she gets hungry and figures out she better eat when its time to eat. Now she is doing a lot better with it, and I don't go out of my way to cater to her special wants. She, as will yours will eat when they get hungry. If they don't want it, take it up and feed at the next meal. It's not long they figure it out and start eating.

·
Registered
4,419 Posts
I have two lab mix dogs, almost 6 years old. When they were about two, I switched them to a raw food diet and it went very well until my little girl decided she wasn't eating it anymore.