Dog Food Chat banner

1 - 20 of 134 Posts

·
Banned
1,713 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1-i have been feeding my dog Canidae for a few years but i have read online its no longer a premium food due to a formula change. i want my dog to eat the BEST so im thinking of changing. is it true canidae is no longer the best. his tummy also rumbles a lot and he farts so i guess the grains are bad? i feed him ALS. with grains.

2- i know that innova was part of the recall, and canidae was never recalled. was wellness ever recalled? im considering switching to wellness core(not regular wellness since that's only 22 percent protein and has less meat than canidae and has grains too) i will not pay top dollar for a food that has ever been recalled and that is one of the reasons i chose canidae.(and i know for a fact innova has been recalled so don't say it hasn't been)

3-i was under the impression that dogs should be fed a ''wolf'' like diet. this means mostly meat,no grains,and high protein. yet i see a lot of people saying high protein is bad for dogs? i have a 6 year old turning 7 golden retriever. he is 75 pounds and is in great health. i was thinking of starting him on wellness core in the summer when hes more active. hes obviously a large breed dog annd ive heard that proteins bad for them.

4-i was thinking of switching him to wellness core. is this a better food than canidae?
I noticed the first two ingredients in wellness core are pure meats, where as canidae only uises meat meals as their meats and has 5 different meat meals. meat meals are all meat where as pure meats are only 20 percent meat after the water is taken out to make it kibble. however wellness core has more protein which im assuming means there is still more meat weight since there is less grains?
i dont think id like to switch to regular wellness since it looks inferior to canidae. wellness core looks like the best.(next to orijon red which is not worth the drive for a limited quantity food )